top of page

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world's sixth-largest country by total area.

Being the oldest, flattest and driest inhabited continent, with the least fertile soils, Australia has a landmass of 7,617,930 square kilometers (2,941,300 sq mi). A megadiverse country, its size gives it a wide variety of landscapes, with deserts in the center tropical rainforests in the north-east and mountain ranges in the south-east.

Capital: Canberra

Demonym: Australian, Aussie (colloquial)

Currency: Australian dollar

Legislature: Parliament

Anthem: "Advance Australia Fair"

bottom of page