top of page


Florida is the southernmost contiguous state in the United States. The state is bordered to the west by the Gulf of Mexico, to the northwest by Alabama, to the north by Georgia, to the east by the Atlantic Ocean, and to the south by the Straits of Florida.

Official language: English

Spoken languages: Predominantly English and Spanish

Demonym: Floridian, Floridan

Capital: Tallahassee

Largest city: Jacksonville

Largest metro: Greater Miami

Before statehood: Florida Territory

bottom of page