top of page
Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico is a Caribbean island and unincorporated U.S. territory with a landscape of mountains, waterfalls and the El Yunque tropical rainforest. In San Juan, the capital and largest city, the Isla Verde area is known for its hotel strip, beach bars, and casinos. It's Old San Juan neighborhood features colorful Spanish colonial buildings and El Morro and La Fortaleza, massive, centuries-old fortresses.

Capital: San Juan

Demonym: Puerto Rican (formal), American (since 1917), Boricua (colloquial)

Currency: United States dollar

Legislature: Legislative Assembly

Anthem: "La Borinqueña"

bottom of page